Home > Photo Tips > What’s It All About Allan?

What’s It All About Allan?

December 7, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’ll try and keep the back story to this series of shots really simple. I was at the house of some friends of mine yesterday to say hello, see the kids but most importantly to let Adam give my 580 EXII flash (uh, we call it a Speedlite) a test drive. He wants to graduate from the pop up flash on his XS and needed to see what he’s been missing.

Anyway, just as I was about to leave it came time to put the homemade star on top of the Christmas Tree. I quickly grabbed my camera (Canon 5D mkII, 85mm f1.8, 580 EXII) and fired some quick snapshots of the event. I bounced the flash off the wall/ceiling behind me.

Now, these are nowhere near my best photos. I could pick apart pretty much every aspect of them in fact. The composition is terrible. The star is cut off in some of the shots. So is Dad. The lighting is nothing to write home about.

But these obvious flaws were invisible to Mom who (in her own words) got a little misty eyed when she saw them. All she could see was the moment.

It isn’t about your new camera or megapixels. And it is definitely not about the photographer. It’s about the feeling you get when you see the moment. I was glad to get a nice little reminder yesterday.

Categories: Photo Tips Tags:
  1. December 7, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    It’s all about the moment. Thanks for reminding us. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment